玛吉中心

London, United Kingdom 2017

English

DESCRIPTION +


功能: 为癌症患者提供疗养及社会与情感支持的癌症关怀中心
业主: 玛吉癌症关怀中心基金会
    规模 6,534 平方英尺
阶段: complete


项目基地位于伦敦市中心,毗邻圣巴塞洛缪医院(St. Bartholomew’s Hospital)的大院子里。圣巴塞洛缪医院成立于 12 世纪史密斯菲尔德(Smithfield),是伦敦最古老的医院,它与 1123 年圣巴塞洛缪大教堂同时成立,该教堂和医院是由华西亚(Rahere)为“穷人的身体康复”而创办的,这个表征历史层次的独特位置,与伦敦中世纪文化紧密相连。

尽管大多数建成的玛吉中心是个水平建筑体,圣巴塞洛缪医院的玛吉中心坐落在历史重要的位置上,更多侧重于垂直感,它取代了1960年实用的砖结构建筑,与James Gibbs设计的17世纪石结构建筑(内设“大礼堂”以及著名的Hogarth楼梯)相邻。

玛吉中心被设想为容器内的容器内的容器,其结构是一层分支的混凝土框架,内层为竹子而外层是用以回顾 13 世纪中世纪音乐纽姆记谱法 neume notation的哑光白玻璃和彩色玻璃碎片 “neume”一词源于希腊语 pnevma,意思是至关重要的力量,喻寓着 生命的气息如一连串的空气、徐徐的风,充满了生机。外立面玻璃边框水平排列如似乐谱,而混凝土结构的分支则像是演奏者的双手。

玛吉中心设有一个开放式的弧形楼梯,与混凝土框架及用竹子垂直排列的开放空间融为一体。玻璃幕墙的几何形状,仿佛为90厘米宽的水平线条 “乐谱”,随着北侧幕墙的主楼梯旋转向上;底部被抬起的部分装置了透明玻璃面向主广场,这将作为建筑主要的前方入口。西边还有另一个入口,可通向邻近教堂的花园空间。

建筑顶部有个公共屋顶花园,朝向一个大房间,可用于瑜伽、太极、会议等活动。多彩的光线随着时间与季节变换洒满屋内的楼板与墙面,塑造了该建筑的内部特征。室内的照明因彩色图案碎片与立面半透明白色玻璃的有机结合,在圣巴塞洛缪医院大广场的拐角处呈现出一个崭新、愉悦、泛光的样貌。

 

 

关于玛吉中心

玛吉中心是一个为癌症患者及其家人、朋友提供免费疗养以及情感与社会支持的机构。建造于英国国家医疗服务体系医院(NHS hospitals)里,玛吉中心是一个温暖且鼓舞人心的地方,随时有专业人员在你抗癌过程中提供援助与支持。

 

 

关于玛吉播客 

玛吉播客(Podcast)是一个有关如何与癌和谐共存的音频系列,收录了名人、专家以及到访玛吉癌症关怀中心的人讲述各种关于勇气、扶持和惊喜的故事。音频可从玛吉官网上收听。

 

AWARDS+


  • 2016 FAST COMPANY INNOVATION BY DESIGN AWARD FINALIST
  • 2017 PROGRESSIVE ARCHITECTURE AWARD
  • 2017 ARCHITECTURAL DIGEST, THE MOST INFLUENTIAL BUILDINGS OF 2017
  • 2018 ARCHITIZER, HOSPITALITY - HEALTH CARE & WELLNESS, JURY WINNER
  • 2018 AMERICAN INSTITUTE OF ARCHITECTS ACADEMY OF ARCHITECTURE FOR HEALTH, HEALTHCARE DESIGN AWARD WINNER

CREDITS+

  • architect
    • – Steven Holl Architects
    • Steven Holl ( design architect, principal )
    • Chris McVoy ( senior partner in charge )
    • Dominik Sigg ( project architect, associate )
    • Bell Ying Yi Cai, Gemma Gene, Martin Kropac, Christina Yessios (project team)
  • associate architects
    • – jmarchitects
  • landscape architect
    • – Darren Hawkes
  • engineer
    • – Arup
    • ( structural, civil, climate, and mechanical )
  • historic building advisor
    • – Donald Insall Associates
  • lighting consultant
    • – L'Observatoire International
  • CDM Coordinator
    • – Floor Projects LLP
  • code consultant
    • – Butler & Young
  • planning advisor
    • – DP9
  • cost estimator
    • – Gardiner & Theobald
  • construction manager
    • – Sir Robert McAlpine
  • archeology
    • – MOLA
  • glass consultant
    • – Arup

BACK

MAGGIE'S CENTRE BARTS

London, United Kingdom, November 2011 - 2016
PROGRAM: Center for practical, social and emotional support for people with cancer
CLIENT: Maggie Keswick Jencks Cancer Caring Centres Trust (Maggie's)
SIZE: 3,260 sq ft
STATUS: construction phase
The site in the center of London is adjacent to the large courtyard of St. Bartholomew’s Hospital. Founded in Smithfield in the 12th century, the hospital is the oldest in London and was founded at the same time as the St. Bartholomew the Great Church in 1123. Rahere founded the church and hospital “for the restoration of poor men.” Layers of history characterize this unique site, connecting deeply to the Medieval culture of London.

While most all of the realized Maggie’s Centres have been horizontal buildings, the centre at St. Barts will be more vertical, sitting on the historically charged site. It will replace a pragmatic 1960s brick structure adjacent to a 17th century stone structure by James Gibbs, holding the “Great Hall” and the famous Hogarth staircase.

The building is envisioned as a “vessel within a vessel within a vessel.” The structure is a branching concrete frame, the inner layer is perforated bamboo and the outer layer is matte white glass with colored glass fragments recalling “neume notation” of Medieval music of the 13th century. The word neume originates from the Greek pnevma, which means ‘vital force.' It suggests a ‘breath of life’ that fills oneself with inspiration like a stream of air, the blowing of the wind. The outer glass layer is organized in horizontal bands like a musical staff while the concrete structure branches like the hand.

The three story centre has an open curved staircase integral to the concrete frame with open spaces vertically lined in perforated bamboo. The glass facade geometry, like a musical “staff” is in horizontal strips 90cm wide, which follow the geometry of the main stair along the north facade, while lifting up with clear glass facing the main square, marking the main front entry. There is a second entry on the west opening to the extended garden of the adjacent church.

The building tops out in a public roof garden with flowering trees open to a large room for yoga, Tai Chi, meetings etc. The interior character of this building will be shaped by colored light washing the floors and walls, changing by the time of day and season. Interior lighting will be organized to allow the colored lenses together with the translucent white glass of the facade to present a new, joyful, glowing presence on this corner of the great square of St. Barts Hospital.

About Maggie's
Maggie’s provides free practical, emotional and social support for people with cancer and their families and friends. Built in the grounds of NHS hospitals, their Centres are warm and encouraging places, with professional staff on have to offer the support you need to find your way through cancer

About the Maggie's Podcast
The Maggie’s Podcast is an audio series about what it means to live well with cancer. A cast of celebrities, experts and visitors to Maggie’s unique cancer caring Centres will give voice to stories of strength, support and surprise. Listen below or on the Maggie's website.
MAGGIE'S CENTRE BARTS MAGGIE'S CENTRE BARTS MAGGIE'S CENTRE BARTS MAGGIE'S CENTRE BARTS
MAGGIE'S CENTRE BARTS MAGGIE'S CENTRE BARTS

CREDITS

  • architect
    • – Steven Holl Architects
      • Steven Holl, Chris McVoy, Dominik Sigg (design architects)
      • Bell Ying Yi Cai, Gemma Gene, Martin Kropac, Christina Yessios (project team)
  • landscape architect
    • – Bradley Hole-Schoenaich
  • associate architects
    • – JM Architects
  • engineer
    • – Arup
  • historic building advisor
    • – Donald Insall Associates
  • lighting consultant
    • – L'Observatoire International
  • CDM Coordinator
    • – Floor Projects LLP
  • code consultant
    • – Butler & Young
  • planning advisor
    • – DP9
  • cost estimator
    • – Gardiner & Theobald
  • construction manager
    • – Sir Robert McAlpine
  • archeology
    • – MOLA
  • glass consultant
    • – Arup
Press Contact

Original Copy
t + 1 718 386-8643
press@stevenholl.com